You know what I find funny and kind of ironic?

The fact that Protestants are all about the Word of God, and its importance in our lives and our worship… yet… do we really ever hear scripture read during a Protestant church service? (I mean, unless you’re Lutheran or Anglican or Presbyterian.) But all these “free” churches – these non-denominational churches – these Assemblies of God churches – etc…. You MAY hear scripture snippets here and there in the sermon, and their worship songs may be scriptural, but… do you ever hear the actual Word of God in its entirety at a service? Where a good chunk of time is just spent hearing and digesting the Word of God?

If your experience has been anything like mine, probably not.

“Faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the Word of God.” -Romans 10:17

That’s one of my favorite things about Mass. I can get a HUGE, HEAPIN’ PILE OF SCRIPTURE tossed my way within the short span of an hour.

The Old Testament Reading. The New Testament Reading. The Responsorial Psalm. The Gospel Acclamation and Reading.

I LOVE it. I CRAVE it. It’s become one of my favorite parts of the Mass. Even though I’m in my Bible on a daily basis, there’s something cool about being AT MASS and finding out what the Lord has to speak to me right then and there. In HIS house. Where the exact same scripture is being read in millions of Catholic churches around the world. To millions of other believers. All with an entirely different take-away because the Lord knows us so intimately, He knows what each one of us needs right then and there… even though it’s the same scripture for everyone.

Does no one else find that as mind-boggingly cool as I do?

Seriously.

How cool is that?!

