Teaching is hard.

Being a nanny to three very active kiddos all summer long is even harder.

I’m only one week into it… and I’m not even kidding, you guys… I’m ready for bed by 8:30.

No wonder parents are so lame and go to bed so early.

Teeny-tiny humans are exhausting.

I mean, teaching can be pretty tiring. You’re on your feet all day… talking… teaching… explaining… mentoring… and mediating… for 15 to 30 little people all with varying levels of understanding, maturity, and capabilities. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had parents come up to me and say, “How do you DO it all day?!” To which I laugh and say, “Well, I only have them for 7 to 8 hours a day. You get them for the rest of their lives.”

I never realized how honest I was being by speaking those words.

Because, yes, teaching is tiring… but nannying? In which one needs to care for, feed, clean up after, mediate for, enforce rules to, and assist in building up the academic achievement and character of teeny-tiny humans?

Oh. My. Word.

Where do your dishes go?

No, you cannot drop your pants and leave them on the living room floor. Put them away.

Don’t fart in your brother’s face.

Please stop singing the Diarrhea Song.

No, you still have 15 minutes of reading time left.

Yes, you have to turn off the TV.

No, you cannot have a candy bar for lunch.

Yes, you have to put on your bike helmet.

Stop poking the cat.

Stop fighting.

No, you do not need to scream in your sister’s face because she gave you a funny look.

Are you honoring God with that behavior?

Where do your Legos go?

Stop sitting on your brother.

Stop dragging your sister across the yard.

Well, if you can’t play according to the rules, maybe we shouldn’t be playing.

No, we are not going to the store so you can look at cell phones. You’re 9.

If you don’t hurry, we’re going to be late. Again.

Yes, you do have to lift up the toilet seat when you use the bathroom.

No, I’m not going to clean up your pee from all over the floor. That is not my pee. That is your pee. You need to aim for the toilet.

I’m sorry it took us 75 minutes to get you dressed for hockey practice, but if you would put things where they belong and stop freaking out about the Velcro straps, we could have left an hour ago.

 

If I’m being honest… I was pretty naive about what I was getting myself into. I sort of thought nannying would be a lot like teaching… only you have to feed them and drive them around. No biggie.

giphy

I was lying to myself this entire time. I had no idea I would be getting a crash-course in parenting.

God bless you, parents, for the work you do all day, every day, without a break in between.

God. Bless. You.

I had no idea.

But, on the upside… There’s never a dull moment…. It’s impossible to be bored… and it is pretty entertaining. Even when they’re screaming and fighting, it’s totally worth it.

Because teeny-tiny humans are pretty cool.

 

