They broke my window.

The children I nanny for broke my car window.

Granted, the stupid thing wasn’t working right in the first place. I couldn’t roll it down. But now… NOW I can’t roll it up. So, the first rain storm we get… Oy

All because it was hot in the car and they couldn’t wait for the car to cool off… so they had to pry the window down with their sweaty, grubby hands… despite countless prior reminders to “NOT TOUCH THE WINDOW”.

And now… NOW… the stupid thing won’t roll up.

Now, I have to bring the car in YET AGAIN for another repair.

You guys… I can’t do this. I am so exhausted.

I get it… I do. The world’s an imperfect place… things break all the time… teeny, tiny, screaming people break things all the time.

But this broken window? It feels like this may just be the straw that breaks the camel’s back.

I’ve had a week and a half off, and I just don’t know if I can get back into it.

With the screaming and the fighting and the bickering and the meltdowns and all of this…

And now the window? THE STUPID WINDOW?!

I just never realized how much I needed a break from children after an entire school year of the screaming and the fighting and the bickering and the meltdowns.

All this teaching and babysitting? It’s zapping my desire to have my own children.

You think I’m exaggerating, and I’m not. I. AM. SO. NOT.

My uterus is closing up shop, you guys. It’s all like, “Yo. I’m outta here. We are SO not doing this.” and it’s hitch-hiking across the country to get as far away from me and my mom-like instincts as possible.

I get it. I’m making a mountain out of a mole hill.

“They’re just being kids!”

“Oh, it’s fine. You’re just tired.”

“You need to loosen up!”

And maybe I am. Maybe. I. Am. But why must we have the breaking of the windows?! WHY CAN’T WE ALL JUST GET ALONG?!?!?!

Maybe I’m not cut out to be a nanny… or a teacher… or a mom… But why do I simultaneously love all these things and hate all these things?

Maybe I just need a nap.

Maybe we all just need a nap.

Stupid windows.

 

 

 

 

